Taking a detour from his main job as lead guitarist for Journey, the multi-talented Neal Schon has put the finishing touches on his latest solo album, 'The Calling' which will be released by Frontiers Records on October 23rd in North America.

Produced by, and featuring Schon on all guitars and bass, 'The Calling' reunites Schon with former Journey bandmate Steve Smith, who lends his virtuoso drum talents to all 12 tracks on the new album. Please see below for the track listing. Click here to access the album cover for 'The Calling'.

Schon set up shop at Berkeley's famed Fantasy Studios during a break from Journey's busy touring schedule, and recorded the album, completely from scratch, in just four days. After overdubbing multiple guitar and bass parts, Schon recruited two keyboard masters to flesh out the music. Igor Len, an accomplished classical, jazz and film composer who had previously collaborated with Schon, is featured on acoustic piano throughout 'The Calling.'

Grammy Award-winning special guest Jan Hammer (Jeff Beck, Mahavishnu Orchestra, Miami Vice soundtrack) recorded Moog synthesizer solos on two tracks - "Fifty Six (56)" and "Tumbleweeds". Recently, Schon teamed up with Dan Barnett (Journey: Live In Manila) to produce the video for the first single and title track from 'The Calling.'

While celebrating the release of 'The Calling' Schon will be back on the road with Journey as the band's 2012 tour kicked off July 21st in Southern California and is scheduled to run through December, with most dates featuring special guests Pat Benatar featuring Neil Giraldo and Loverboy. Check out www.journeymusic.com for updated tour details.

Neal Schon 'The Calling' track listing:
1. The Calling
2. Carnival Jazz
3. Six String Waltz
4. Irish Field
5. Back Smash
6. Fifty Six (56)
7. True Emotion
8. Tumbleweeds
9. Primal Surge
10. Blue Rainbow Sky
11. Transonic Funk
12. Song Of The Wind