Senses Fail begin recording their fifth full-length album this week in Los Angeles, California. The New Jersey-based band will be working with producer Shaun Lopez (Far, Deftones) at The Airport Studio and Red Bull Studio. The recording is expected to wrap up in mid-December with a Spring 2013 release planned.

“Over the last 10+ years our influences have grown, and the creative well from which we draw has been dug deeper,” says vocalist Buddy Nielsen. “This record stands to show where we are in our personal and creative lives. We've always counted on this band to be our rock and positive tool of expression through our highs and lows. Never has that been more clear than with this batch of songs.

We're excited to be working with Shaun Lopez. We've been a fan of his work as both a musician and producer for a long time and we look forward to his input and direction.”

Along with Nielsen, guitarist Matt Smith, guitarist Zack Roach and drummer Dan Trapp began writing in February. The group spent their summer performing on the Vans Warped Tour – their fifth time on the massive tour.

In June, Senses Fail celebrated their ten-year anniversary with the release of a double-CD retrospective entitled Follow Your Bliss: The Best of Senses Fail. The package included a bonus disc including four brand new tracks that hint at the direction the band will be taking on this new album.

Senses Fail formed in 2001 and released their debut EP, From the Depths of Dreams, in 2002; next came 2004's Let It Enfold You—their first full-length—followed by Still Searching, which debuted at #15 on the Billboard Top 200 chart. Then the band’s next release, Life Is Not A Waiting Room, came in 2008, followed by their most recent release, The Fire, in 2010. To date, Senses Fail have performed several worldwide tours and their catalog sales have reached over 1.2 million.

More From Rock Music Report